Tim Cone wins fourth Coach of the Year plum at PBA Awards Night

Tim Cone PBA Awards

Tim Cone gives his speech after being named Coach of the Year for the fourth time in the PBA Awards.–Melo Fuertes/INQUIRER.net

MANILA, Philippines—Ginebra coach Tim Cone was hailed as the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Coach of The Year for a fourth time in the 2023 PBA Press Corps Awards Night on Monday night at Novotel in Quezon City.

Aside from pushing the Gin Kings to win last season’s Commissioner’s Cup, Cone also led Gilas Pilipinas to the gold medal in the Hangzhou Asian Games.

“Coaching Ginebra has been such a whirlwind in terms of all the fan support and the corroboration we had in the Asian Games was special, especially with coach Alfrancis Chua,” said Cone. 

“We didn’t think we were going to do it [gold medal] and somehow it was done and then there was this great series against the (Bay Area) Dragons and that was like the cherry on top.”

With Cone’s exemplary feat for the country, he also received the President’s Award alongside the entire Gilas Pilipinas squad, including the other coaches and officials.

San Miguel’s CJ Perez, meanwhile, won the Scoring Champion plum after averaging 18.8 points in 59 games last season. He averaged 22.5 points in the Beermen’s Philippine Cup Finals conquest.

Jojo Lastimosa, who willed TNT to the Governors’ Cup crown in Season 47, won the Danny Floro Executive of the Year.

Joining Lastimosa in the winner’s circle from the Tropang Giga side is Jayson Castro, who secured the Order of Merit award.

Jio Jalalon’s defensive mettle earned him the Defensive Player of the Year while Northport’s Roi Sumang won the William “Bogs” Adornado Comeback Player of the Year.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.

The first game of the Philippine Cup Finals series between TNT and the Beermen was hailed as the Game of the Season. Jericho Cruz, who provided some firepower for San Miguel in that same series, also captured the Mr. Quality Minutes award.

The All-Rookie Team, meanwhile, featured Converge’s Justin Arana, NLEX’s Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser, Blackwater’s Ato Ular and Phoenix’s Tyler Tio and Encho Serrano.