Super League 2024: Salford Red Devils, St Helens, Warrington Wolves, and Wigan Warriors team guides | Rugby League News

Our guide to the 12 teams competing in the Betfred Super League in 2024 concludes with a look at Salford Red Devils, St Helens, Warrington Wolves, and Wigan Warriors…

Salford Red Devils

Head coach: Paul Rowley.

Captain: Kallum Watkins.

Last season: Seventh.

Previous Super League best: Grand Final runners-up (2019).

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights from the Betfred Super League clash between Salford Red Devils and Catalans Dragons.

What to expect in 2024: It is really tough to call how Salford will do in 2024. They have lost two key playmakers in Brodie Croft and Andy Ackers, but the likes of Cade Cust, Nene Macdonald, and Ethan Ryan should bring a spark when they join. Rowley has always known how to get the best out of his side under pressure and if they can string a relatively injury-free season together, there is no reason why they cannot shock everyone and go on a run once again. Diamonds are created under pressure.

In: Nene Macdonald, Kai Morgan (both Leeds Rhinos), Matty Foster (St Helens), Cade Cust, Joe Shorrocks (both Wigan Warriors), Ethan Ryan (Hull Kingston Rovers), Joe Mellor (Leigh Leopards).

Out: Brodie Croft, Andy Ackers (both Leeds Rhinos), Matty Costello (Barrow Raiders), Rhys Williams (Swinton Lions), Danny Addy (Featherstone Rovers), James Greenwood (Barrow Raiders), Ken Sio (released).

St Helens

Head coach: Paul Wellens.

Captain: Jonny Lomax.

Last season: Third, lost in play-off semi-finals.

Previous Super League best: Champions (1996, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2014, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022).

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Michael Smith expressed his pleasure after St Helens icon Jack Welsby agreed a new contract, ensuring he’ll remain at the club for at least four more seasons.

What to expect in 2024: St Helens will be motivated heading into 2024 after a trophy-free 2023. Wellens’ side did not perform badly but some lacklustre displays in attack set them back. The four-times in a row champions will want to retake the crown from their rivals and put themselves back on top once again. The biggest challenge for St Helens is playing without James Roby at hooker for the first time in 20 years. New signing Daryl Clark has some big shoes to fill and it feels that if he can fit in, then the Saints will be a force to be reckoned with. They will also be bolstered by retaining star Jack Welsby until 2027 and he could certainly light up the competition once again.

In: Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves), Matt Whitley (Catalans Dragons), Tee Ritson (Barrow Raiders).

Out: Wesley Bruines (Warrington Wolves), Dan Norman, Lewis Baxter (both Leigh Leopards), Matty Foster (Salford Red Devils), Taylor Pemberton (York Knights), Jumah Sambou (Oldham), Dan Hill, Daniel Moss (both released), James Roby, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Will Hopoate (all retired).

Warrington Wolves

Head coach: Sam Burgess.

Captain: Stefan Ratchford.

Last season: Sixth, lost in elimination play-off.

Previous Super League best: Grand Final runners-up (2012, 2013, 2016, 2018), League Leaders’ Shield winners (2011, 2016).

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Warrington Wolves head coach Sam Burgess says that his side ‘just need a little bit of tidying up’ and discusses his coaching style.

What to expect in 2024: Warrington really are the team that no-one can quite call. Their 2023 season started on a high with eight wins in a row, but a sacked coach and losing streak later, they were back struggling once again. With rugby league great Burgess coming in, fans will be hoping he brings a winning culture into his side. If he can get the best out of his players, then there is a talented team which will be in the running.

In: Sam Powell (Wigan Warriors), Toby King (Wigan Warriors, returned from loan), Wesley Bruines (St Helens), Brad Dwyer (Hull FC), Zane Musgrove (St George Illawarra Dragons), Lachlan Fitzgibbon (Newcastle Knights), Rodrick Tai (PNG Hunters).

Out: Daryl Clark (St Helens), Jack Darbyshire (Leigh Leopards), Greg Minikin (Featherstone Rovers), Riley Dean (Mackay Cutters), Thomas Mikaele (North Queensland Cowboys), Peter Mata’utia (retired).

Wigan Warriors

Head coach: Matt Peet.

Captain: Liam Farrell.

Last season: League Leaders’ Shield winners, Grand Final winners.

Previous Super League best: Champions (1998, 2010, 2013, 2016, 2018, 2023).

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

A look back Wigan Warriors’ route to their first Super League title since 2018.

What to expect in 2024: Wigan will be the team to beat in 2024. They showed a real consistency across 2023, winning the League Leaders’ Shield and Grand Final, and Peet looks like he has a winning side who are hungry for more. With signings such as Adam Keighran, Sam Walters, Kruise Leeming, and Luke Thompson coming into bolster his side, he will have a side and a forward pack in particular that many teams will fear when they have to face them at his disposal.

In: Adam Keighran, Tiaki Chan (both Catalans Dragons), Sam Walters (Leeds Rhinos), Kruise Leeming (Gold Coast Titans), Luke Thompson (Canterbury Bulldogs).

Out: Kavan Rothwell (Leigh Leopards), Cade Cust, Joe Shorrocks (both Salford Red Devils), Sam Powell (Warrington Wolves), Toby King (Warrington Wolves, loan finished), Kai Pearce-Paul (Newcastle Knights), Morgan Smithies (Canberra Raiders), Ramon Silva (Barrow Raiders), Harvey Makin (Barrow Raiders, loan).

Watch every match of the 2024 Super League season, including Magic Weekend, the play-offs, and men’s, women’s and wheelchair Grand Finals, plus the World Club Challenge, live on Sky Sports. Also stream with NOW.