Standhardinger, June Mar Fajardo top picks in PBA All-Star Draft

June Mar Fajardo Christian Standhardinger PBA

San Miguel’s June Mar Fajardo and Ginebra’s Christian Standhardinger fight for the ball during the PBA Commissioner’s Cup semifinals. MARLO CUETO/

MANILA, Philippines–Japeth Aguilar selected Christian Standhardinger with the first overall pick before Mark Barroca went with June Mar Fajardo in the PBA All-Star Draft held Monday night at TV5 Media Center in Mandaluyong City.

Aguilar’s Team Japeth opted to take Standhardinger and set the tone for a Barangay Ginebra-flavored lineup that will be handled by coach Tim Cone in the exhibition classic to be held next month in Bacolod City.

Barroca took Fajardo for his Team Mark as its first selection, putting the seven-time Most Valuable Player alongside his San Miguel Beer mentor Jorge Gallent.

READ: Mark Barroca, Japeth Aguilar spearhead PBA All-Star Game

Team Japeth’s other Ginebra players were Scottie Thompson, Jamie Malonzo, Maverick Ahanmisi, Stanley Pringle and Nards Pinto while plucking Magnolia’s Paul Lee away from Barroca and San Miguel’s Don Trollano, Marcio Lassiter and Terrence Romeo from Gallent.

Its other picks were Meralco’s Chris Newsome, NorthPort scorer and ex-Ginebra player Arvin Tolentino and Phoenix’s Tyler Tio.

Team Mark got other Magnolia and San Miguel players in the Hotshots’ Jio Jalalon, Ian Sangalang and Calvin Abueva and the Beermen’s CJ Perez.

Also joining Barroca are Phoenix’s Jason Perkins, NLEX’s Robert Bolick, Blackwater’s James Yap, TNT’s Jayson Castro, Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood, Phoenix’s Ricci Rivero, Meralco’s Cliff Hodge and Terrafirma’s Juami Tiongson.

READ: Ginebra stars lead PBA All-Star voting

The All-Star Game returns to Bacolod for the first time since 2008, with the league once again implementing a four-point line and each dunk worth three points like in the previous edition held in Passi City, Iloilo.

Meanwhile, Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser was taken first by Team Greats in the Rookies Sophomores Juniors Game to be held during the festivities.

Team Greats, with Ginebra assistant Patrick Partosa calling the shots, also chose Javi Gomez de Liano, Ken Tuffin, Jerrick Ahanmisi, Justin Arana, Ralph Cu, Andrei Caracut, RK Ilagan, Alec Stockton, Gian Mamuyac, James Laput and Shaun Ildefonso.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.

San Miguel chief lieutenant Peter Martin went with seven rookies for Team Stalwarts in Kyt Jimenez, John Amores, Stephen Holt, Keith Datu, Fran Yu, Adrian Nocum and Kim Aurin before adding JM Calma, Joshua Munzon, Anton Asistio, Santi Santillan and Keith Zaldivar.